The Seven Chakras – Our Spiritual Energy Centers

Chakra, a Sanskrit word, means a wheel. Each chakra represents a spinning energy center that exists in our subtle etheric body. There are seven main chakras, located along the spine, with each chakra having specific qualities.

These chakras are formed at the junctions of three energy channels along the spine, the Sushumna, the central channel, while the Ida & the Pingala at its left & right. Chakras serve as the gateways for the life-energy to flow into our physical bodies.

Each chakra provides energy to a certain part of the body to function, and corresponds to a particular aspect of human nature. Each chakra reverberates at a different intensity, depending on the awareness level of an individual. The lower chakras are associated with survival tendencies, and emotions, while the upper ones correspond to the higher mental level & spiritual longing.

The flow of life-energy through our chakras decides our physical & mental health. Meditation & Yoga purify the energy in the lower chakras and guide it to move upward, thus moving from survival to a fully blossomed life. It also enhances our awareness, thus helping us reach the state of overall balance.

The essential details of each chakra are mentioned below.

7.) Sahasrara – It is located at the top of the head. It represents the highest level of consciousness and enlightenment.

6.) Ajna – It is located between the eyebrows. It is the seat of intuition.

5.) Vishuddha – It is located at the pit of the throat. This chakra represents creativity.

4.) Anahata – It is located at the center of the chest. It is the center of unconditional affection, devotion & love. It bridges the lower and, the higher life-energies. Our spirit resides at this place.

3.) Manipura – It is located behind the navel. It is the place for pure emotions, contentment, and personal power.

2.) Swadhisthana – It is located slightly below the navel. It is the seat of creating all kinds of relationships.

1.) Muladhara – It is located at the base of the spine. It is the place of vitality and our fundamental urge to survive.

Categories Meditation, Sadhak Anshit, Yoga ArticleTags , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close